Revised summer hours for the Hastings Historical Society: Through August, we will be open on Mondays and Thursdays from 11 a.m to 2 p.m. Note that this opening time is one hour later than usual. Visits at other times can be arranged by appointment. Please email us at the cottage, and we will make every effort to set up a time that works.
From Hudson Heights to Uniontown, from Riverview Manor to the Forgotten Fourteen, our next exhibit, opening this fall, focuses on the growth of the village’s major neighborhoods from pre-Colonial times to 1899. A future exhibit will focus on the years from 1900 until the present. Look here for news of the exhibit’s opening and prepare to show some neighborhood pride!
Show your love for Hastings with this white 11-ounce mug showing a photo of the Hastings shoreline in winter. (Click on photos for larger image.) Mugs are $13 each, two for $25, and shipping is $6. Proceeds help preserve Hastings history!
“Hastings First Responders: Our Heroes Through the Years” celebrates the firefighters, police, and the ambulance corps who have kept our village safe, including Edward Murray (pictured here), who was the village’s first uniformed police officer in the late 1800s. The exhibit at Draper Cottage includes photos, artifacts, and other historical information. The exhibit can be viewed during our regular hours of Mondays and Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. as well as on the first Saturday of each month, from 2 to 4 p.m. For more information, click here.
Preserve Hastings history in style: Show your support for the Historical Society with our new eco-friendly tote bag, featuring the iconic water tower. (Click on the photo at left for a larger image.) Made in a hand-washable poly blend, the 14-inch by 14-inch bag has comfortable 10-inch handles. It was created by artist Constanza Mallol. The cost is $30, plus $6 for shipping.
Come visit the Historical Society on Saturdays! The Hastings Historical Society holds special open houses on the first Saturday of every month, September through June, from 2 to 4 p.m. See our current exhibit, discover the riches of the Historical Society, and learn more about our village's history. The Society is located in the former Draper Observatory in Draper Park and can be reached via the driveway at 407 Broadway.
After a community fundraising campaign sponsored by the Hastings Historical Society, the village's Korean War and Vietnam War Monuments had their unveiling on Veterans Day 2013 in a ceremony honoring those who fought. The monuments, featuring the names of dozens of residents who served in each war, are located on the hill in front of the James Daly VFW building on Warburton Avenue. For pictures of the dedication ceremony, click here.
We now have a Flickr photostream full of hundreds of photos from our collection, including this one of buildings just south of the Warburton Ave. bridge in July 1931. Just give a click to get a glimpse of Hastings' past! We'll be adding more, interesting items from our collection, so visit often!
Created by the Hastings Historical Society and the latest addition to Arcadia Publishing’s “Images of America” series, this 118-page paperback is filled with 200 black-and-white captioned photographs covering the history of our Village. The book is available at local retail outlets, or you can order it from the Historical Society for $20 each (plus $3 shipping). A separate set of 15 black-and-white postcards is also available, for $8 (plus $2 shipping). To see the postcards and images from the book, click here.
Order the book by clicking our PayPal button, or click here for a printable order form and order yours today!
The centuries-long history of Hastings-on-Hudson is now accessible to all who live, work and visit here, thanks to a new project of the Hastings Historical Society. A historical walking tour of Hastings, starting at Boulanger Plaza, features signs with Village history and photos at 34 different historical sites.
The Hastings Historical Society received an “Award toward Excellence” for the Museum in the Streets® from the Lower Hudson Conference of Historical Agencies and Museums, which called the project “a unique, illustrated bilingual walking tour and street exhibition using archival materials and presenting them to citizens, school children, and heritage tourists alike in a direct and engaging way.”